巴利1日

我把门打开我的书八里今天,当我有一些空闲时间,在工作中,我不得不说我很兴奋! 我现在是少数特权阶层在日本谁可以称自己为巴利文的学生之一。 我可能是唯一的人在我的整个县内要学习这种语言。 我不会走那么远,虽然说国家。 我敢肯定有一些大学在这里,有印度文字学的部门或提供的主要早期佛教。 即便如此,我觉得我有一些特殊的宝石,没有其他人知道。

我有两个巴利文课本,我的工作。 一个是著名的简介八里由AK守卫。 多年来,这一直是教科书学习巴利文。 诚然它并没有太多的竞争,所以它仍有待观察,如果它真的那么辉煌。 这是相当厚,翻出所有直接从它的演习八里佳能和有详细的语言解释一切。 其他的书我使用的是被称为八里底漆由百合德·席尔瓦。 这是一个瘦小的书,非常简洁而富有运动。

也有一些学习一个远古的死亡宗教语言的时候拿出有趣的事情。 在大多数我已经采取了外语课,教科书开放与问候和介绍。 “你好”,“我的名字叫科尼利厄斯”,“很高兴见到你。”漂亮的标准。 退房的词汇列表教训八里的一本书:

  • 躺在弟子
  • 身体,物质
  • 战士,高贵
  • 这样走了(的标题为佛一个)
  • 神王(敬)
  • 儿子
  • 男人
  • 牧师,婆罗门
  • 路,路
  • 非人类
  • 部长
  • 世界,人,宇宙
  • 禁欲主义者,流浪者,哲学家
  • 一时间,场合

它真正体现出你,你进入什么的,不是吗? 一些有趣的第一课例句:

  • 有神灵是一种非人类。
  • 儿子谁是外行门徒看见。
  • 牧师消失。
  • 神死了。

神死了? 这是相当激烈! 所有例句订立摩涅莫辛涅间隔重复的软件 ,我将使用的巴利文。

一个有趣的边注:本字“人”和“非人类”是“manussa”和“amanussa”分别。 该AK守卫书说,“A-”是一种消极的前缀。 我不知道这是否是相同的前缀,我们发现在英语单词对,如典型/非典型和性/无性。 英语和巴利文是印欧语言,所以它不是不可能的。 有谁知道的故事呢?

对于那些谁愿意跟随:

相关文章:

  1. 磨出来的巴利文
  2. 两个月不间断的八里
  3. 巴利文唱颂的Karaniya慈光SUTTA
像这样的职位? 给我竖起大拇指!

4个意见

  1. 谷歌图书有一些有趣的(虽然旧的)东西。 这里有一个巴利语语法从19世纪20年代,完全可下载的PDF文件。

    布拉沃在学习巴利文。 我也许应该更系统地自己研究它,是因为泰国的词源是我的主要兴趣之一,所以许多泰国单词来自巴利文。 我知道的一切关于巴利文,现在是通过泰国的过滤器。 这些天的..

    rikker | 2007年10月27日 | 回复

  2. rikker:伟大的发现! 这本书早在巴利圣典学会! 旧的写作风格是如此的酷阅读。 它有一些有趣的例子句子在那里了:“奶牛当中,黑色牛的是,这给大多数乳”布“垂死的,一个人不会人多势众,是美好的”有一天,我希望能得到各地学习。僧伽罗脚本。

    通过泰国学习巴利可能是很多喜欢学习拉丁文我们。 当然,泰国和巴利文是不相关的,但正如你说了很多泰国的词汇是从八里借来的。 我不知道是否知道八里将使更容易学习泰国的未来。

    托马斯 | 2007年10月27日 | 回复

  3. 我想知道八里将使它更容易学习泰文,是的。 一旦你学会了开始做你知道的话,从八里连接,你可能能够记住巴利文/梵语衍生词更容易,能够认识到的P / S借词,​​等等。 或者说,认为一

    rikker | 2007年10月31日 | 回复

  4. rikker:这是很好的了解,虽然我不就解决泰国计划,直到我掌握了日语。 我喜欢看的语言,虽然连接。 如果我写一个关于巴利文后,你碰巧发现有一个相应的词在泰国一个字,随时让我知道在评论。

    托马斯 | 2007年11月2日 | 回复

2引用(S)

  1. 2007年10月18日 :从助记符设备要记住日本人字典顺序| babelhut.com
  2. 2007年10月30日 :从磨出来的巴利文| babelhut.com

抱歉,此条评论被关闭在这个时候。

Pali Day 1

I cracked open my Pali book today when I had some free time at work and I have to say I’m quite excited! I am now one of the privileged few in Japan who can call themselves Pali students. I may be the only person in my entire prefecture to be studying this language. I won’t go so far as to say country though. I’m sure there are some universities here that have Indian philology departments or offer a major in early Buddhism. Even so, I feel like I have some special gem that nobody else knows about.

I have two Pali textbooks that I am working from. One is the famous Introduction to Pali by A.K. Warder. For years this has been the textbook for learning Pali. Admittedly it doesn’t have much competition, so it remains to be seen if it’s really all that brilliant. It’s quite thick, pulls all of its exercises straight from the Pali Canon and has detailed linguistic explanations for everything. The other book I’m using is called Pali Primer by Lily de Silva. It’s a skinny book, very concise and full of exercises.

There are some interesting things that come up when learning an ancient dead religious language. In most foreign language classes I’ve taken, the textbook opens up with greetings and introductions. “Hello,” “My name is Cornelius,” “Nice to meet you.” Pretty standard. Check out the vocabulary list for lesson one of the Pali book:

  • lay disciple
  • body, substance
  • warrior, noble
  • village
  • thus-gone (one of the titles for the Buddha)
  • god, king (honorific)
  • son
  • man
  • priest, brahman
  • road, way
  • human being
  • non-human being
  • minister
  • world, people, universe
  • ascetic, wanderer, philosopher
  • a time, occasion

It really shows you what you’re getting into, doesn’t it? Some interesting lesson one example sentences:

  • A god is a non-human being.
  • The son who is a lay disciple sees.
  • The priest goes away.
  • The god dies.

The god dies? That’s pretty intense! All example sentences were entered into Mnemosyne, the spaced repetition software I will be using for Pali.

One interesting side note: the words for “human being” and “non-human being” are “manussa” and “amanussa” respectively. The A.K. Warder book says that “a-” is a negative prefix. I wonder if this is the same prefix that we find in English with word pairs such as typical/atypical and sexual/asexual. Both English and Pali are Indo-European languages, so it’s not impossible. Does anybody know the story on this?

For those who would like to follow along:

Like this post? Give me the Thumbs Up!

4 Comment(s)

  1. Google Books has some interesting (albeit old) stuff. Here’s a Pali grammar from the 1820s, fully downloadable as a PDF.

    Bravo on studying Pali. I should probably study it more systematically myself, being as Thai etymology is one of my main interests, and so many Thai words come from Pali. Everything I know about Pali right now comes through the filter of Thai. One of these days..

    rikker | Oct 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. rikker: Great find! That book predates the Pali Text Society! The old writing style is so cool to read. It has some funny example sentences in there too: “Amongst cows, the black cow is that which gives most milk.” “The dying of cloth, by a person not a dyer, is wonderful.” Someday I hope to get around to learning the Sinhalese script.

    Learning Pali through Thai might be a lot like studying Latin for us. Of course Thai and Pali aren’t related, but as you said a lot of the Thai vocabulary is borrowed from Pali. I wonder if knowing Pali will make learning Thai easier in the future.

    thomas | Oct 27, 2007 | Reply

  3. I think knowing Pali will make it easier to learn Thai, yes. Once you learn to start making connections with words you know from Pali, you’ll probably be able to remember Pali/Sanskrit-derived words more easily, be able to recognize P/S loanwords, and so forth. Or so think I.

    rikker | Oct 31, 2007 | Reply

  4. rikker: That’s good to know, although I don’t plan on tackling Thai until I’ve mastered Japanese. I like to see connections in languages though. If I’m writing a post about Pali and you happen to notice a word that has a corresponding word in Thai, feel free to let me know in the comments.

    thomas | Nov 2, 2007 | Reply

2 Trackback(s)

  1. Oct 18, 2007: from A Mnemonic Device To Remember Japanese Dictionary Order |
  2. Oct 30, 2007: from Grinding Out The Pali |

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.